# Minutes

At an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Full Council held at Council Chamber, County Hall, Preston, on Monday, 24th January, 2022

#### Present:

County Councillor Barrie Yates (Chairman)

#### **County Councillors**

T Aldridge U Arif T Ashton	A Fewings J Fillis A Gardiner	M Pattison E Pope J Purcell
N Aziz	G Gooch	J Rear
R Bailey L Beavers	M Goulthorp M Green	P Rigby
J Berry	C Haythornthwaite	S Rigby A Riggott
P Britcliffe	S Hind	M Salter
M Brown	A Hindle	A Schofield
P Buckley	S Holgate	S Serridge
J Burrows	D Howarth	J Shedwick
A Cheetham	T Hurn	J R Singleton JP
S Clarke	K Iddon	S Smith
A Clempson	S Jones	K Snape
M Clifford	A Kay	A Sutcliffe
L Collinge	H Khan	R Swarbrick
J Couperthwaite	S Malik	C Towneley
L Cox	M Maxwell-Scott	S Turner
A Cullens	J Mein	A Vincent
M Dad BEM JP	G Mirfin	D Westley
F De Molfetta	S C Morris	S Whittam
G Dowding	J Oakes	P Williamson
C Edwards	J Parr	R Woollam

### 1. Apologies and Announcements

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillors Barnes, Hartley, Hennessy, Hosker, Iqbal, O'Toole, Potter and Tomlinson.

County Councillors Ali, Gibson, N Khan, Lewis, Motala and Pate, joined the meeting virtually.

# Announcements

# Deaths

The Chairman reported the recent death of former County Councillor Terry Brown, who sadly passed away on Thursday 13 January 2022.

The Council observed a one-minute silence.

# 2. Disclosure of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

Name of County Councillor	Agenda Item Number(s)	Nature of Interest (non-pecuniary unless stated)
P Britcliffe	3	Borough Councillor
P Buckley	3	Wife is Leader of Fylde Borough Council
A Cheetham	3	Borough Councillor
A Gardiner	3	Borough Councillor
M Goulthorp	3	Deputy Leader of Pendle Borough Council
M Green	3	Borough Councillor
C Haythornthwaite	3	Borough Councillor
T Hurn	3	Borough Councillor
K Iddon	3	Borough Councillor
A Kay	3	Borough Councillor
G Mirfin	3	Borough Councillor
S Morris	3	Borough Councillor
J Purcell	3	Borough Councillor
J Singleton	3	Borough Councillor
A Sutcliffe	3	Borough Councillor
S Turner	3	Borough Councillor
C Towneley	3	Borough Councillor
A Vincent	3	Borough Councillor
D Westley	3	Borough Councillor
S Whittam	3	Borough Councillor
R Woollam	3	Borough Councillor
B Yates	3	Borough Councillor

# 3. Our New Deal for a Greater Lancashire

County Councillor Phillippa Williamson moved a report which provided Full Council with an update on work undertaken towards development of strengthened joint working, a long-term strategic plan and a County Deal for the Lancashire area and which sought agreement to progress this work.

The following amendment was moved by County Councillor Lorraine Beavers:

(i) Note the outline "Our New Deal for a Greater Lancashire" at Appendix A as a suggested initial draft basis for further discussion and development of a possible County Deal for the Lancashire area. It, however, is this

council's position devolution discussions should seek similar powers, freedoms, and resources for Lancastrians as existing arrangements in the North West most notably Greater Manchester and Liverpool City Region.

- (i) Remains as written.
- (ii) (replace) Agree that the Leader of the Council continues to work with Lancashire Leaders to develop an initial proposal in consultation with councillors, residents, local businesses, trade unions, organisations and institutions, and notes that any formal proposals will require approval by Full Council at the appropriate time.

Following a period of debate, and on being put to the vote, the amendment was lost. Following a further period of debate, the substantive Motion was put to the vote.

In accordance with the requirements of procedural Standing Order B45(4), a recorded vote was taken. The names of the county councillors who voted for or against the Motion and those who abstained are set out below:

Aldridge	Dad	Kay	Shedwick
Arif	De Molfetta	Khan, H	Singleton
Ashton	Dowding	Malik	Smith
Aziz	Edwards	Maxwell-Scott	Snape
Bailey	Fewings	Mirfin	Sutcliffe
Beavers	Fillis	Morris	Swarbrick
Berry	Gardiner	Oakes	Towneley
Britcliffe	Gooch	Pattison	Turner
Buckley	Goulthorp	Pope	Vincent
Burrows	Green	Purcell	Westley
Cheetham	Haythornthwaite	Rear	Whittam
Clarke	Hind	Rigby, P	Williamson
Clempson	Holgate	Rigby, S	Woollam
Clifford	Howarth	Riggott	Yates
Couperthwaite	Hurn	Salter	
Cox	Iddon	Schofield	
Cullens	Jones	Serridge	

For (65)

Against (1)

Collinge

Abstain (4)

Brown   Hindle   Mein   Parr
------------------------------

The Motion was therefore carried, and it was therefore:

# Resolved: - That:

- (i) The outline "Our New Deal for a Greater Lancashire", as set out at Appendix 'A' to the report, now presented, be supported as the initial draft basis for further discussion and development of a possible County Deal for the Lancashire area.
- (ii) The principles of governance for any future deal, as set out in Appendix 'B' to the report, now presented, be agreed.
- (iii) It be agreed that the Leader of the Council continues to work with Lancashire Leaders in line with the principles agreed in recommendations
  (i) and (ii) above, and it be noted that any formal proposals will require approval by Full Council at the appropriate time.

Angie Ridgwell Chief Executive and Director of Resources

County Hall Preston